Society for the Furtherance of Critical Philosophy

The Socratic method encourages reflection and independent, critical thinking.  On one level, a Socratic Dialogue is a collaborative attempt to find the answer to a fundamental question. It is a form of co-operative philosophical enquiry. On another level it is entirely individual, rooted in concrete personal experience, and contributing to the formation of one’s own personal philosophy.
It is accessible to all, and no prior philosophical training is needed to participate.

The attempt to reconnect practical philosophical philosophy with its Socratic roots began with the German philosopher and teacher, Leonard Nelson. Launched in 1922, Socratic Dialogue grew out an era of dogmatism. More about the Socratic Method is here.

We are looking for new trustees to join our small board. Details here.

Dialogues 2024

We are planning a series of dialogues around the UK in 2024 as well as our regular dialogue in
London in October. Dates and venues will be announced soon.

February 8th 2024 – Sheffield dialogue
DETAILS to come

February 9-12 2024
Socratic Dialogues in Muenster/Westphalia including a Dialogue in English, Wolfgang Dinges:
“Struggling with Self-control”
Invitation and programme
Please register until December 24, 2023 online via

Recent Dialogues

October 2023
What is my responsibility for the future?
Dialogue facilitated by Dieter Krohn
Lancaster Hall Hotel
August 2023

What are the limits of my responsibility for others? (
Dialogue facilitated by Rachel Kellett
Woodland dialogue in Kaliwoods, Suffolk

Philo Cafes 2023
At Cows Library, Isle of Wight

November 2022
When is it right to lie? A Socratic Dialogue in a ‘post-truth’ era
Facilitated by Sarah Banks
May 2022

Mathematical Socratic Dialogue in Finland
May 2022


Dr Rene Saran, one of our UK founders and Chair and Secretary of the Society
for the Furtherance of Critical Philosophy died May 2023 aged 102.
Tributes to Rene Saran
Celebrating Rene’s 100th Birthday July 2021

Pat Shipley, a friend and Trustee of SFCP, died in July 2021. Dorothy Moir, a current Trustee and friend of Pats, writes this tribute to Pat.


If you’d like to join our mailing list or for a dialogue, welcome! (Dr. Julie-Marie ffrench Devitt)

Group of Socratic Dialogue facilitators who trained in the UK, 2019. UK facilitators